Overland Track.... done

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 23:43
ThreadID: 79834 Views:3106 Replies:8 FollowUps:0
Some of you might remember that I was concerned that my daughter was planning to do the overland track in Tassie... mid winter...

Lots of comments received... most warned against.

Well she and her friend just arrived back home. They had the time of their life. Not too hard she thought, but a big adventure. All went well.

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 04:33

Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 04:33
Good news Royce, its all down to planning and preparation I reckon, I did an enormous amount of planning to do the Simpson alone (one vehicle that is) and the more I planned the less worried I got. Great that htey had a wonderful time, its a great track I hear

AnswerID: 422932

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 07:06

Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 07:06
Good to hear they are back safely Royce.

The walk isn't difficult but could be risky in the winter depending on the weather. We did it in January a few years ago, aged mid 50's, and it was just beautiful at that time of the year.

Planning to return some 10 years down the track if we are still fit and active enough!

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 422937

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 08:00

Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 08:00
Good stuff Royce, thanks for letting us know. Cheers
AnswerID: 422942

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 09:50

Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 09:50
Glad that she is back safe and well Royce, she has got some guts.
AnswerID: 422955

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 10:16

Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 10:16
Great news they're safe and well.
AnswerID: 422960

Reply By: Bazooka - Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 16:12

Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 16:12
Royce
I was not one of the 'nay sayers' (so to speak) but must admit that after reading some blogs and seeing pics of chest deep snow on the track I hoped that your daughter had indeed done heaps of research on (and prep for) winter walking. They will have great memories of the Overland walk for a long long time. Far better than walking the track with hundreds of others in my opinion. The south west track (even better) awaits.....
AnswerID: 422994

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jul 05, 2010 at 23:30

Monday, Jul 05, 2010 at 23:30
Hi Royce

Very pleased to hear she is safe and sound after her adventure. Watch out - Mt Everest next?

AnswerID: 423197

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 06, 2010 at 08:17

Tuesday, Jul 06, 2010 at 08:17
Good to hear of her success Royce. She's probably planning her next big adventure now :)

AnswerID: 423211